It is time to Deskerise!

Happy Friday Peeps!

 images

Unlike yesterday when I thought it was Friday, I was even more ecstatic when I woke up this morning! Unfortunately, I was not so happy to see the monsoon outside; luckily that’s why we have handy umbrellas! However, next week the sun is actually supposed to make an appearance. Weird huh? Look at all of those yellow circles in a row. Shocking!

IMG_1461[1]

I wanted to talk about one topic that I know affects many people. How to exercise at your work desk!

I know I am not the only one who sits at their desk all day for nearly eight hours during the workweek. It gets real old doesn’t it? At some points throughout the day I feel as though I need to pull my eyeballs from the computer screen, because I am so sucked in. Does anyone feel this way too?

I came across this article on Greatist this morning called, “Deskerise! 33 ways to exercise at work.” Deskerise huh? Interesting name, but it makes sense. I am not going to go through all 33 exercises so take a look at the website for yourself.

Source

As we all know, research suggests that we get 30 minutes of exercise per day. Our bodies are not meant to sit for long periods of time without some sort of movement. Plus, it can lead to health risks and a slower metabolism. There are many easy ways you can incorporate exercise into your every day.

Here are some easy tips to get more cardio:

-Take the stairs instead of the elevator.

-Walk to work if you are able too.

-Get up once an hour and take a lap around the office.

-Park farther away in the parking lot.

-Go on a walk at lunch.

To strengthen your core, try these simple moves:

– Sit on the very end of your chair with your legs at a 90 degree angle.

– Try sitting on a medicine ball instead of a regular chair.

– Maintain good posture.

There are a number of good exercises that can be done at your desk that target all areas of the body! Setting a reminder to get up once an hour is a great way to make sure that you are staying active throughout the work day.

 Do you workout on your lunch break?

How do you incorporate exercise into your workday?

Personally, I try to get up a few times an hour to walk around a stretch a little. My back tends to stiffen up if I remain immobile for too long. And when the weather is nice, like hopefully next week I try to go walk around downtown Seattle to get some fresh air and sun!

Now its time to get back to work!

Tara

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Missed Opportunities and Office Exercise | Christopher Is Melting

Leave a Reply

