“If I Stay” Book Review

“If I Stay” by Gayle Foreman

A few weeks ago, I came across Julie’s May Book of the month, “If I Stay” by Gayle Forman. I thought that it would be a great idea to read it myself and do a review.

ifistay_GayleForman

Honestly, I haven’t done a book review since high school so bare with me.

I am a huge book worm; I don’t think I’ve mentioned that yet. I use a Kindle so that I can read at the gym, on the bus, at home, or wherever. With that, it makes reading books so convenient and I tend to go through a few books a week.

This review includes spoilers. Just FYI…

If I Stay is about a seventeen-year-old girl named Mia who is in an accident with her parents and younger brother in Oregon. Unfortunately, Mia has no memory of the accident and she learns that she is the only survivor. Mia has an out-of-body experience and watches her body, her friends and family witness the aftermath. She ultimate has to choose whether or not she wants to fight for her life.

The story is written through the eyes of two main characters; Mia and Adam. The author paints a great picture of how each character live and feed off one another. Mia and Adam are a young couple who bonded over their love for music. Mia is a talented cello musician where Adam is a guitarist in a band called “Shooting Star.”

Throughout the novel, we watch Mia as she watches herself hang onto every moment trying to decide whether living through this disaster is possible. Her boyfriend Adam makes her a promise, “If you stay, I’ll do whatever you want. I’ll quit the band; go with you to New York. But if you need me to go away, I’ll do that, too.” Adam leads on to say that he understands that living your old life would be too painful, and that it may be easier to erase the past. This is a turning point in the book for Mia, because she is given permission that whatever choice she makes can be the right one. Ultimately, the story ends with Mia waking up from her coma.

Overall, I enjoyed this novel. It made me realize how difficult it would be to lose my parents and be left with nothing. Life is so precious and it can be taken in an instant. If you want to read a moving novel, then I recommend If I Stay by Gayle Forman.

I soon found out that there is a sequel called, Where She Went.  Stay tuned for another book review since I read this novel in two days! 😉

images

Well, it is time to get back to work. It is looking like it will be 70 degrees today! I think a run is in my future for today!

Happy Thursday!!

Tara

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: If I Stay | Peanut Butter Fingers

Leave a Reply

