Un Finisseur!

I hope everyone had a great long Labor day weekend! I sure did, I had alot on the “list” but I managed to cross some off. πŸ™‚ Eight out of twelve items!

Yesterday, at the last minute my mom decided to do the four mile run while I did the half marathon. I am so proud of her! I love doing races with her. She’s a great supporter!

20130902-184327.jpg

On Monday morning, I was up early for the race. I didn’t really sleep during the night like usual. I start dreaming of what might happen like the possibility of rain. Even though there was no rain in the weather forecast. Anywho, we made it to Marymoor park and walked around before the start of the race. Took a bunch of pre- race pictures then it was time to run my booty off- literally.

20130902-184437.jpg

I was pretty excited to see the Northwest Runner sign. PNW-NW Runner pretty close!

014 015

Overall, the race went well. It was pretty warm at 9 am, so that made it harder. There was plenty of water stations but I didn’t want to stop so often. They did have cliff gu so that was helpful around mile 9 when I was really beginning to feel it. Mostly my feet and toes. OUCH!027 But I dug deep and kept on running along. Once I saw the finish line, I dug even deeper (not sure where) and sprinted to the finish line. I literally almost collapsed at the end.

028

I received my finishers medal and immediately got water and sat down.

020
I even had another supporter come out to watch me finish. What a great guy!
After sitting down for a bit- it was time for a congratulatory beer from Mac & Jaks! I couldn’t resist!

My time was 1:46. I felt pretty good (tired)!Β 5th in my age group. Β πŸ™‚

After the race, it was time to get cleaned up (duh!) and move onto another adventure. Pike place! It is quite an busy place regardless of the day. It was nice to just walk around and spend time outside. No complaints.

But dang, I was beat. I only wanted to sit on the couch for the rest of the night which happened.

Thank you to all my supporters out there! You mean alot of me! I cannot wait to keep going with my training (aka getting faster)!

πŸ™‚ Hope you had a lovely weekend!!! My moms back to school and I have one more day off! Whoop whoop!!

What did you do over the long weekend?

Have you ran a half marathon? What races have you done recently?

There are so many more races I want to do before the year ends. Stay tuned!

XO, Tara

See what I am up too on:Β Twitter,Β InstagramΒ andΒ Facebook

11 Comments

  1. Amazing job!! Way to dig deeper and pull out an amazing finish!! YOU ROCK! Having those supporters there is even better!! You’re making me so excited for my next half (which I am still secretly hoping you come run so I can meet you!) whoooo!

Leave a Reply

