Give Yourself Permission

Happy Tuesday!

Can you believe that it is already October 22nd? Time is flying by. Before we know it, it will be Thanksgiving then Christmas then goodbye 2013, hello 2014.

I remember when I was younger, time would move much slower. Now, living in the adult world, life moves like a speeding bullet.

My step-dad mentioned this morning, “Live life to the fullest every single day. Do things that make you HAPPY. You never know when something will stop you in your tracks.”  We recently had a friend whose sister passed away un-expectantly at a young age. This made us all realize that living to your full potential is important and fit in as many items on your bucket list as possible. (note: I’m not saying we will die tomorrow, just live it up!)

This leads me to my next point. I came across a post last week by Lindsay at CotterCrunch that made me think a lot about myself and how I can continue to improve when it comes to my own recovery.

Give yourself permission…

To unplug. Disconnect from social media, cell phones, blogs, etc.

To have a rest day.

To love yourself. Don’t forget to take care of yourself.

To have a beer or two.

To take risks.

To have a day dedicated to YOU.

To eat dessert.

Like Lindsay mentioned, it can be tougher than you realize to give yourself permission. But you can do it. Don’t be afraid to be yourself. Never change for others. You are YOU. Every single characteristic makes you different from everyone else and you should be PROUD of that. We don’t live in a society where everyone is a robot with the same goal.

Giving myself permission has helped me through my recovery. I would have never taken rest days a year ago or even six months ago. Risks and desserts were too scary. And, basically I didn’t love myself. I am moving towards the light of loving myself more every single day. More importantly, I thank all of YOU for being there, reading my blog and giving me insight. It is greatly appreciated more than you will ever know.

I hope you have a terrific Tuesday.

Do you struggle with giving yourself permission?

Tell me how you will give yourself permission TODAY!

XO, Tara

Follow me: TwitterInstagram & Facebook

7 Comments

  1. I sometimes struggle giving myself permission for seconds on dessert…but then I hush my brain and go for it. HA! I run…IT’S OK! Great post, and it’s inspiring me to continue taking risks and putting my fear in my back pocket!

  2. I agree with you with the fact that sometimes it is so hard to give myself permission. Permission to eat dessert, to have a rest day, to go after my dreams, and to so many things. I don’t know why but recently I have just met people who don’t even know me but somehow they manage to tell me the same message: don’t stay in one place if you don’t like it. You can grow to your fullest potential even when that means Change (scary word). People is always scared of change (including myself).
    I’m trying to figure out if this is a message (even when it might sound stupid for someone) I do believe that some things are meant to be and that too many people with the same message should mean something. Including reading this post because I do want to allow myself to chase what I really want to do, even when it is not someone else expectation.
    Oh and I allow myself dessert today: homemade pumpkin custard 🙂
    Love your blog and love Seattle, I was there in May this year and would love to live there, although I’m from Puerto Rico soon I’ll be moving to US (Change).
    Oh and I’m allowing myself to (very very soon) start my blog.

Leave a Reply

