Even “experienced” runners make mistakes.

Many of you are probably aware of the up coming Seattle Marathon and half marathon on December 1st, 2013. I will be running the half marathon. 😀

Since my accident, I haven’t been training as much. Due to the fact that I don’t know if my shoulders can handle it. We will see!

However, while I was surfing the web the other day, I just came across an article from Runners World which I found to be very helpful. The article went over 12 mistakes that even “experienced” runners make.

Here is the article: The Dirty Dozen.

I’ve definitely made some of these mistakes. Starting off too fast, not having enough time to recover, over-training, etc. Can you relate? Advice and tips are always welcome in my world. I can only benefit from them in the long run. Especially, since I want to continue running for many many years to come.

What did you learn from this article?

Have you made any of the mistakes? If so, did you change?

XO, Tara

5 Comments

  1. My first half marathon I actually made the opposite mistake, I started off slow in fear of not being able to finish and I ended up not doing my best, I still had so much energy in me to speed up that I didn’t take advantage of.

  2. I can appreciate “mistake” number 2.

    When I had just started running, every run was kinda hard, even the “easy runs.” Now that I’m in better shape I think some of the difficulty in running easy is adjusting mentally – you’re still reaching back to the “mental effort” that was “easy run” before – but it was much harder then just to run, period. “Easy” now actually requires much less effort.

    Man, does that even make sense? haha.

Leave a Reply

