Learning To Take It Easy

It’s the beginning of race season and I have already hurt myself. After the Mercer Island half marathon two weekends ago, my right hip flexor has been tight and quite uncomfortable. I experienced a similar feeling after the Seattle Half Marathon last year. I’ve managed to stay away from running since the race because of the pain, but today the sun was shining and it was like 65 degrees and that pulled me to hit the pavement. Well, that wasn’t the best idea. I am now hobbling around like an idiot that should know better. I thought I gave it enough time, but boy was I wrong.

I managed to run just shy of five miles in the glorious sunshine. It is so nice to feel the warmth and have sweat dripping from your forehead. I’ll spare you the pictures of the sweat. I always think that the sweatier I get shows how hardcore I am. 😉

001

 

I love messing around with Pic Monkey.

I hate to say that I need to lay off the running until I am fully healed. Wait, what? No running…you must be cray cray!

Yes, I may be cray cray…..but, I don’t want to hurt myself anymore in preparation for marathon training and/or improving my overall pace. Can you relate?

Have you pulled your hip flexor? If so, how did you treat it?

Is it hard for you to stop running when you’re hurt?

Any tips/thoughts are welcome! Help me please!!

Take care and be well,

Tara

 

8 Comments

  1. Ha, I wonder if I saw you out there yesterday. I was running a pretty similar route! I don’t know about pulled hip flexors, but I would assume that a lot of stretching and foam rolling could help. Have you done any hip flexor strengthening exercises?

  2. I totally understand your frustration. I’ve been out for 2 1/2 weeks. I miss running 😦 I’m not 100% sure what my problem is though. It started with issues in my SI joint; now it’s migrated to my hip; I think my IT band and hip flexor may be contributing or suffering. I’ve been sticking with rest, foam rolling, icing. I think I’m finally seeing improvement, but don’t know how much longer I’ll be out.

Leave a Reply

