Guest Post: The Importance of Fitness Apps & Gear!

Good Morning!!

A recent college graduate named Sara contacted me inquiring about sharing an article on my blog. I am all about reading other people’s thoughts/opinions or wise words about the health and fitness industry.

Here is an article focusing on how apps and technology can help with your fitness journey.

***

Chinese philosopher Lao-tzu once said, “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” It’s doing the little things in life that often gets us started on doing the big things. I’d say getting in shape is a very big thing.

For the past several months, I have been focused on exercising on a regular basis. I wish I could say it hasn’t been challenging, but if you’ve ever attempted to lose weight by getting fit, you know doing so is anything but easy. There are, however, ways to make the process more bearable, and technology can help with this.

In recent years, companies have developed some pretty cool technological tools to help us get—and stay—in shape. Let’s take a look at a few of these creations:

Hapilabs’ Hapifork: Helping You Eat Wisely

The Hapifork reminds you to slow down between servings, so you don’t eat too much too quickly. Geek Sugar notes that it reminds you when the amount of fork servings per minute is too high with blinking lights and vibrations. Plus, a micro USB cable uploads the fork’s information to Hapilab’s site so you can see how long it has taken you to finish a meal, along with how many fork servings per minute you’ve had and how long you took between fork servings. It’s definitely worth checking out if you tend to rush through meals, only to find that you’ve eaten a lot more than you originally intended.

UP by Jawbone: Helping You Sleep Better

With the UP, there’s a lot that you’re able to take advantage of and track on a daily basis. However, as a Verizon Wireless contributor notes in this article, you’re able to “wear the wristband to bed and it tracks how deeply you sleep and how many times you wake up.” As it relates to sleep, it turns out that this gadget is quite useful. It may take some getting used to, but it’s small and light enough that you’re likely to not even notice that you have it on when you tuck in for the night. Knowing the amount and quality of your shuteye can help you know if any changes need to be made at bedtime. To that end, I’ve found that the better I sleep, the more inclined I am to exercise the next day. Plus, I’m less stressed and I can think better when I’ve been able to rejuvenate properly.

Fitness Apps: Helping You with…Well, Everything

As About makes clear here, there are so many fitness apps out there that I don’t have the space to list them all. From running apps like RunKeeper Pro to weightlifting apps like iPump & Fitness Builder, there are plenty of apps out there to help you no matter your workout preferences. It doesn’t matter if you have an Android, iPhone, iPad, or some combination of them all—you’re sure to find an app that helps you along your way to living a fit, healthy life.

The bottom line: getting fit is a lifestyle change. You can’t just say, “I’m going to live a healthy lifestyle January through March, but be lazy and eat junk food the rest of the year” and still expect to be healthy. You have to change how you live, and in order to do that, you have to start somewhere. I hope this post will help you take your next step.

***

Thank you Sara for letting me share a great article with my readers!

I completely agree that apps and technology are huge contributors for helping people change their lifestyle. I use running apps every time I head out for a run. It is a must. It helps me track my distance and pace. Without it, I’d have to go back to the old way of tracking distance….driving the route in my car and making sure that I know exactly when I start and end my run. Hello, too much work!!!

I have yet to get a Jaw Up or Nike Fit Band, but it is something that I am willing to look into. I am not sure if it will help me change anything that I am currently doing, but it would be fun to know how many steps I’m taking or for a friendly reminder to get up and walk around every hour while at work.

What are your thoughts?

Are fitness apps helpful?

Have a lovely Thursday!

Tara

See what I am up too on: TwitterInstagram and Facebook

Leave a Reply

