Baking on Memorial Weekend

I hope you are having a fantastic Memorial Day Weekend. I love the extra day off to relax or just sit around and catch up on shows. Since I have no plans for Memorial Day,  I am going to do just that. Living life on the edge, clearly. 

My parents went out of town (lucky dogs) and I was summoned to dog sit. No pun intended. I’m more than happy to snuggle with the pups and watch shows on demand. Sadly, I don’t have that capability at my pad. I have to stick with the basic 80 channels. Boo.

006 005

Obviously, Kasa isn’t feeling as photogenic as usual. This is her “rough” look. 

After the snuggle sesh, I tried to run. Literally tried. I made in 1.45 miles before my knee said HELL NO. All I was thinking was WTF, WHY WHY WHY!! Should I run home or walk? I decided to walk and run home…Overall, I was pissed. Pissed that I cannot run without pain in my knee. Heck my blog name is PNW Runner. Should I change it to PNW Walker? Or PNW No Run? Sorry, I’ve been feeling so discouraged lately.

During the summer, I thrive to get out and run for hours and now I can barely get through a few miles. I immediately texted my mom with an angry face. Her response, bike? Well, my lazy ass let my bike at home. Go, me. 

Since I was in a defeated mood after my walk/run attempt, it was time to watch some quality TV and catch up on Instagram. After about an hour or so of doing “nothing” it was time to go hit the gym. I did an hour of cardio and watched Beach Front Bargain Hunt then hit the weights for a half hour or so. I love going to the gym on the weekends, because there are less people and I can attempt to try new machines without feeling like I’m a newbie . Heck, I rarely venture into the weight area due to the fact that I don’t want people judging me. I know, I shouldn’t care. 

I did a killer workout that was all over the place. You’d think I was loko.

Here’s what I did:

Rows with 40lbs 15×3

Dead lifts with 40lbs 15×3

Back extension machine at 60lbs 12 x3

Alt lunges with 40lb barbell 10×3

At lunges on a box with a leg lift 10×3

Squats with 40lb barball 10×3

Tricep extensions with 40lbs 10×3

20 Burpees

Captain chair leg lifts 10×3

Captain chair side leg lifts 10×3

See, I told you that I was all over the place. I’ll be feeling it tomorrow, I hope.

Since I am unable to run, I need to lift to get that definition in my quads and butt. I’m coming to terms that I will be lifting more than ever…this is different for me. BUT, I am okay with that.

Post workout, I headed home to feed the animals. I grabbed a growler and decided that it was a perfect night to bake. Guess what I baked? I found these laying around….

007

These beauties turned into this..

001

008 009

Very delicious. I even tried a new recipe.

I found this Banana Bread recipe from Skinny Mom. I had to make a few modifications.

Preheat your oven to 330 degrees.

Ingredients:

  • 3 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp light butter
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1½ cups whole wheat white flour
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup walnuts

Directions:

Mix together in a separate bowl the butter, oil, sugars and vanilla extract.

Add in the mashed bananas and egg whites.

Mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a separate bowl.

Add the flour mixture to the wet mixture. Don’t over mix.

Pour the batter into a bread pan and add cinnamon and walnuts on top.

Bake for 35 minutes and let cool.

I made a new modifications to the original recipe. I sprinkled cinnamon and walnuts on top. I think that it added a extra touch. Plus, I love cinnamon. Like I said, the recipe turned out perfect. Thank you Skinny Mom. 😀

I highly recommend you giving this recipe a try.

Okay, I’m off to watch more TV or walk the dogs or something….

XO, Tara

See what I am up too on: TwitterInstagram and Facebook

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

