Cold showers

Humidity isn’t my friend.
While on vacation on the eastcoast, I had to try and get used to the humidity. It wasn’t too bad, but when it rained it got quite uncomfortable. That moment when you shower and can’t stop sweating afterwards is a problem. Especially after you go on a run. I’ll admit that I took a few cold showers just to cool down….only to start sweating again. Layer on the deodorant. Ekkk!
Anywho, I knew that I had to exercise on my vacation…I mean I cannot turn into a slob. I chose to run in the afternoon while in Gloucester and the temperature was around 85 and the humidity was a normal 80 percent. Boy was that a shocker.

20140718-200247-72167365.jpg
However I was able to run on the boardwalk which had a beautiful view of the harbor.
Throughout my vacation, I ran as much as possible. I ran 26 miles in two weeks. I wish I ran more, but like I said the humidity and heat index was high which made it difficult to run longer distances. Plus, I don’t want to push myself to hard since my old injury seems to be healed.
Knock on wood!!

20140718-200845-72525173.jpg

20140718-200844-72524653.jpg
While visiting my aunt, uncle and cousins in New Jersey, I was able to get in a few longer runs. The course was pretty flat which was a bonus; however the 85% humidity at 8am was a struggle. I came back pretty gross….
Ehh, first world runner problems. Haha! 🙂
Overall, I’m happy that I was able to run while on vacation. I maintained my sanity….sort of. Although, it is important to find a balance while on vacation. Exercise isn’t everything all the time.
Do you exercise on vacation?
If so, what do you do?
Have a great weekend!! 😀
Tara

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

