Twelve Joyful Miles

Howdy!

Yes, this girl is still alive and kicking even after two 12 hours days. I never thought that I would be at the firm at the crack of dawn and work till nearly 6 pm. However, the experience has been great!! I cannot get into any details, but the experience has been a blessing. I’ll be able to take what I’ve learned from this case and use it in the future.

Long days mean that workouts are even more essential especially for clearing the mind and zoning out. That being said, lets rewind back to last Saturday. I knew that trial would begin Monday and I knew a long run would help clear my mind.

I decided that Marymoor would be a great place to let loose. Plus, its a flat paved path with trials on the side and plenty of water fountains. Why not work on my tan in the meantime? Done and done!

After twenty minutes, I was in the zone and feeling good. I decided that I wanted to run to the Woodinville/Bothell rest area which was about six miles from my starting place. Going back to basic math would mean my run would be 12 miles roundtrip. I haven’t ran 12 miles since the Mercer Island Half Marathon in MARCH! I can’t believe I said that. March?

But….I’ve been injured so I cannot beat myself up for that. I felt good during the run.

042

Wooohoo!

My family was shocked but applauded me for my long run. I took the rest of the day off…sitting on the couch and catching up on trashy TV of course. 😀 I earned it.

The run definitely helped me zone out and not worry about the upcoming week. Running has always been a stress reliever. Running is like my personal counselor.

Does running act like a counselor for you?

What activity helps you tune out when times get rough?

Any advice for me?

XO, Tara

See what I am up too on: TwitterInstagram and Facebook

 

4 Comments

  1. Running is my sanity. I actually took a prescription for anxiety meds while I was stuck on crutches because I felt like a different person without my daily run. I’m so glad I’m starting to get back to regular workouts, it has a huge (positive) effect on my mood (which I think the husband appreciates too).

  2. AHH YOU ROCKED THESE MILES HOLY COW! I haven’t gone on a long run since May, when I ran the Tacoma City Half. HA. I am training for a half in October now, and I’m going to actually train for it!

Leave a Reply

