Post Triathlon Recap

I know you’ve been on the edge of your seats waiting for me to recap about last Saturday’s triathlon. I’m always amazed at how good you feel after completing a triathlon. I can definitely pat myself on the back after doing all that before 9:30 a.m. I haven’t done that since last August.

Despite the few bad dreams the night before, I wasn’t that nervous.I was doing it with three other people so that helped calm the nerves.

012

 

Pre-race smiles. 

Prior to the swim, my fellow triathlete asked me which leg is my weakness, I said the swim. I basically said that I “black out” during the swim, then I wake up and it’s time to peddle. She laughed.

013

The crew. 

016 017

Three. Two. One. Black out!

Overall, the swim went okay. I didn’t get kicked in the face which is always a good thing. I kept my head in the game and didn’t panic.

I felt strong during the bike. I had no problems using my tri bike for the first time in a triathlon. I’ll admit, I didn’t clip in this time, but I will next time. I didn’t want to throw too much into the mix and risk falling over like a noob.

 020

13 miles down. It’s time to run.

022

Not the best, back end shot.

I racked my bike, grabbed my FITTIE and hit the trails. I don’t prefer trail running, I love hitting the pavement. I mean, after biking 13-14 miles your legs are like jello and running on trails even tougher due to the uneven ground. Plus, they literally just made the trail a few weeks prior to the race. Awesome. Not.  

023

Time to pass this lady. Which I did. 

Since you weren’t allowed to run with music, I had to focus all my attention on picking people off. I’d pass one person, then focus on the next, and so on. Like usual, I left nothing in the tank and sprinted the last few hundred yards.

025

I survived!

My official time was 1:34:30.

026

027

My “fam club”= my rock. 

Everyone single person in our crew did amazing!!

028

What happens after a triathlon? A shower, rest, beer and party time.

029

The celebration. 

It was a fabulous day with good friends. So many accomplishments! It’s amazing what you body can do with some training. I highly recommend doing a triathlon. You’ll be happy with the results.

I potentially will be doing a duathlon in September with some friends. A duathlon is a run, bike, run race. I’ll have no anxiety about blacking out for the swim. Score.

Have you done a Triathlon?

If you do, what is your strongest leg?

Any tips for me?

XO, Tara

You may also like:

Common Triathlon Q&A

See what I am up too on: TwitterInstagram and Facebook

7 Comments

  1. Great job – that’s awesome! I’ve only done one – I’m a pretty good swimmer and a pretty good runner but I’m definitely not a fan of the bike. Hmm… advice – find some space in the water… if you give up a few minutes there, it’s not a big deal because it’s easier to make up that time on the bike and run anyhow!

  2. That’s so awesome you did a triathlon! I’ve done a few and get pretty nervous before the start. Running is my strength. I’m an okay swimmer and have found I can spend hours and hours swimming only to improve my time by like 20 seconds so it’s better for me to spend the time on the bike as you can make the best gains there. Also getting fast in transitions helps (I’m slow in transitions).

Leave a Reply

